Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This weekend I installed the XDI Fuel Pump and XDI Injectors. I did both as my goal for my car is 500whp on straight E85. The pump alone will support mid 400ish with the stock injectors. I did not want to go port injection for several reasons and this will meet my goal. This is not an official guide but I am putting this out there to anyone that it might help. I am not a mechanic or anyone qualified to give professional advice. Feel free to add to this so it can help others out.

Injectors were straight forward there are a few considerations before you start your install.

I watched these youtube videos before installing to get a better idea of what I was doing.
RS injector video
ST Video Injector
RS Catch Can Video
It is recommended to buy new injector clips
It is recommended to buy new fuel rail bolts.

This is the process I followed.
  • Wear protective eye gear for this install fuel does and can spray.
  • Remove f56 fuse 20a in the top left under the passenger side
  • Run car until car shuts off
  • Remove battery terminal
  • Remove intake manifold (See RS Catch Can video)
  • Remove Fuel Rail (see the ST video injectors)
  • Remove Injectors
  • Prepare XDI injector with new injector clips. I lubed the top seal of the injectors but not the bottom seal as it is not recommended.
  • Install the new injectors I pushed from the clips and you should feel that it makes a seal with the injectors to the block. (there might be a special tool, but I used my hands and made sure I went from slightly above the block int the injector slot) I also connected the injectors harness.
  • Install the fuel rail. I slightly lubed the the inside of the rail where the top portion of the injectors seat. Make sure to connect fuel rail AN line connector
  • You want to install the fuel rail from above the injectors not straight forward.
  • Torque injectors to first 8nm then 26nm