Ford Focus RS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's also current (Apr. 19, 2022):

Let Your Usage Be Your Guide

We’ve assembled this chart to be a quick reference to choose the proper tire for the proper venue.

• Autocross: Choose A or AA for Warm-up and B or better for Pace.
  • Time trials: Choose by Pace and Wear.
  • Lapping days: Choose by Heat Tolerance and Wear.
  • Street and Track: Choose by Heat Tolerance, Wear and Wet.
Colorfulness Rectangle Font Line Slope

Article link:

Track Tire Buyer's Guide, 2022

·
Registered
3,543 Posts
Hopefully they redo this when the new RE71 comes out, seems like for our cars the RT660 is the tire for street class right now.
They tend to update this table every year or so as new tires come out, so I'm sure they will be when the RE71 RSs come out.

·
Registered
2,505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Kinda noob here but can someone explain to me what "Time trial pace" means please.
SCCA Definition:

Time Trials is the term for competition in which competitors vie for the fastest lap or elapsed time to complete a designated course. Time Trials competitors may share the track or course, but these events are not wheel-to-wheel competitions.

Within the Time Trials program, there are three primary formats:

1. Time Attack
"Time Attack" is the modern term which best described traditional Time Trials. This format means competing for the best lap on a closed course purpose built for performance driving or motorsports.

2. TrackSprint
TrackSprint is a format for competition on a specific section of a closed course purpose built for performance driving or motorsports. (E.g., a standing-start run from a specific point on track to a flying finish at a different point on track.) Though cars may share the course, there should be enough space to avoid cars passing or running in close proximity to each other.

3. HillClimb