Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody,
It's my first post. I don't own a RS yet and still have some doubts if I should wait for an '18 model or go and buy a '17 today.

I am familiar with the upgrades - cosmetic (black roof, spoiler, mirrors and carbon trim) and the diff being most important to me.
I am also aware about the price/package difference (RS2 package is now stock). So I don't care much about anything but the diff in the '18.

How hard(expensive) is it to upgrade to
Code:
performanceparts ford com/part/2536-ATB-AA
and is it worth it?
Not talking about if it will be cheaper, don't care much about it. It's more like "How hard is it to do it and what are the chances they will mess up my car".

I am a driver enthusiast and not much of a mechanic one. That will be a dealer job, but I have no idea where the diff is and how hard will it be to change it.
Does the gearbox have to be taken out? I could only find a ST video
Code:
youtube com/watch?v=jbq5ml3fXrE
and it looks like something that could definitely be messed up even from a ford dealership mechanic.

Can't wait to get an RS though.

·
Registered
740 Posts
I haven't done it, but the diff is 1200 and install is around another 1k give or take. If you don't have the car, you'd be better off getting the 18 at MSRP than installing the diff in a 17 RS2 at invoice.

The diff install is basically a partial transmission rebuild labor wise, so it's not trivial. While I don't think it's fair to say the dealership would mess it up, this is not the kind of shade tree job any idiot can knock out. You only come out ahead if the diff goes into an RS1. At this stage I would push you towards the 18.

·
Registered
106 Posts