Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The rs, like the st and the mustang are speed density based. I'm not an expert by any means but i'll share what I know. The pre turbo map sensor measure intake temp and pressure/volumn. Then the post-turbo /pre- intercooler map senses charge temp and I believe compressor efficiency. Then the charge is cooled and one more map sensor on the manifold senses temp and pressure again. Its pretty complicated but it makes it easy for tuners to really get the most out of the hardware... it really is a great system as it will adapt to any aftermarket parts you throw on the car... the boost targets in the ecu will target a certain psi for wastegate duty cycle and this will limit to the factory setting. Adding parts may increase the under the curve power and torque but You must get a tune to remove these torque targets to see any peak torque gains. Imo looking at the power graph from ford, tq gains from a tune should be quite large

Reactions: Ca kleStack

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It is possible that they used an encryption, they did in the previous Rs but that had a volvo engine. This is the same ecu from the mustang and there's no problem tuning that platform. Hopefully cobb pulls through and get us rolling

Reactions: Smokin' Joe

·
Registered
3,049 Posts
Pulls...rolling...dyno...

my sense of humour is messed, haha.

·
Banned
1,389 Posts
It is possible that they used an encryption, they did in the previous Rs but that had a volvo engine. This is the same ecu from the mustang and there's no problem tuning that platform. Hopefully cobb pulls through and get us rolling
LOL, I used to work with Encryption and other security products. I have forgot more than most people know about security, was CISSP ;)

YMMV,

MidCow3

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

·
Registered
2,200 Posts

·