Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ll try and keep this short but I need some help guys. I have a 2016 RS, so I wanted to upgrade to Apple CarPlay as my GPS and general function of my center unit was running slow. Bought the Apple CarPlay unit, went to install, didn’t work. Figured I needed the latest version of Sync so tried to do the usb install myself several times (after reinstalling the original USB port) Car would update for about an hour and a half saying “updating system software” before just shutting off. (Pic below) At some point during these self attempts, I did a master reset and tried again. No matter what, I’d get the same “updating system software” message for about an hour before car shutdown and upon restart, I’d be at “Sync 3 Version 1.0” (pic below)
Anyway decided to let the dealer take a crack at it. Charged me 140, told me they had completed it but when I went to pick up the car, still says “Sync 3 Version 1.0”. (Techs notes below) Been back and forth trying to get them to try the update again but today different service manager (who advised me to bring it back with the original service manager) looked over my case and told me I have the latest software according to oasis, “Sync version V4 Gen 3.” (Oasis report below)
But I asked him why does my “About” still read “Sync 3 version 1.0? I didn’t really get an answer other then to bring it back with the original service manager.
I asked for a refund so I could take it to my normal dealer closer to home (who would probably have done this at no cost but because I have been working so much, decided to take it to this dealer closer to work) and as this is visit #3 of me getting early to drop the car off before work and have a coworker pick me up and then leave work midday to pick the car up before the service department closed.