Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have never used coilovers or bags before, only lowering springs (it was stupid idea and now my BRZ feels like it is breaking my back even when I drive over the smallest of pebbles).

My question is concerning how installing coilovers or bags will effect how the car changes the dampers in track mode. First off, it is my understanding that a coilover or bag system would replace the stock dampers, is this correct? If so, how would it effect the track mode? As this is a setting in the ECU will there have to be changes to the computer? As there is no foreseeable reason for me to ever use track mode should I even care about loosing this feature?

Basically, what issues can I expect to arise if I go with coilovers or bags?

Sorry if this has already been asked in another thread, I couldn't find anything and this is my first time posting on a forum. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Why are you interested in suspension modifications? Reviews have described Normal mode as rough and Track mode (40% stiffer) as too rough for most tracks. With regard to the dampers, it seems to me as though the only benefit to installing something aftermarket would be the simplicity/reliability of not having a computer-controlled system. Or getting something softer.

The drive modes control a lot more than just the dampers. I don't think that I have seen it confirmed, but it is my assumption that that system is open loop. If you were to disconnect the factory dampers and install something else that is not computer controlled, the ECU would continue to think that something is listening on the other end and command a stiffer profile. This would obviously do nothing to your suspension since you wouldn't have computer-controlled dampers.