Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At the risk of sounding like a complete Noob (not saying I'm not at all but still...)

I'm interested in getting some feedback from the various professionals and gear heads about the best ways to break-in a manual transmission and ensure protection of synchros.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Seconded. All of my cars have been very well broken in already. The engine should already be broken in from the factory but you have to break in everything else. I have heard that you should get a few thermal cycles in before pushing the trans too hard because those cycles help anneal gears and strengthen them. Beating on an unstrengthened gearbox could cause microfractures that greatly weaken your gears.

Of course, gears come pretty well heat treated these days, so I don't know how much of that is relevant anymore.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Drive it like you robbed a bank from day one! That way it breaks in to hard driving and not a soft easy going drive (same goes for the engine).

If you plan on driving hard, break it in hard. If not and you do a soft break in period and then drive hard. From my personal experience, that is when things break and don't hold up under stress/strain. Whereas if you break it in that way, it will be nothing new to the car when you get on it and drive hard later; the car is use to it, as this is what is was given from the beginning and is not new stress/strain to the engine/tranny/drivetrain.

Again, just my personal opinion and what has worked well for me.

·
Registered
2,041 Posts
At the risk of sounding like a complete Noob (not saying I'm not at all but still...)

I'm interested in getting some feedback from the various professionals and gear heads about the best ways to break-in a manual transmission and ensure protection of synchros.
Dealership/Porters will take care of the engine break in. Nothing to worry about.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #5