Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Ford Focus RS
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A little background first. I'm new to my Ford Focus RS, and new to suspension in general. However, I live in Roanoke, VA. Lots of back roads full of fun off-roading experiences along with great paved, windy mountain roads. I love my new Focus RS, however, I wanted to extend its capability for light rally performance on the back roads. So I started researching suspension kits that would accommodate the rougher terrain, still maintain performance for the street, and also not compromise daily driving.
At first I was overwhelmed, because I didn't know anything about suspension. Also, most of the kits were 2 - 3Gs+ and they were geared more towards lowering the vehicle and track performance. I needed to do the opposite. Then I started reading articles about how its going to cost me 5 - 10 - 15Gs or more for this to happen.
I had a wild imagination of what I might do in the car, but in reality, what I would actually do would probably be different and I knew I didn't need to spend 5000+ on suspension to go off-roading. At least in the beginning :). I also had limited money for this project as it stood.
After calling multiple suspension companies. I came to the conclusion of using Yellow Speed Racing Dynamic Pro Sport coilovers w/ extended strut assembly and Remote adjuster cables (for the rear suspension). After describing what I was trying to do with the car the engineers there recommended these coils over all the others, specially over the Dynamic Pro Gravel Rally coilovers because it had to do with my car also being a daily driver. By default the DPS coilovers are not setup with this type of application and the extended strut option is needed. The remote adjuster cables are also an option that needs to be specified for the RS. These also carry a 2 year warranty. I got everything for 1,191.00. (they were on sale)