Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Lommel test track videos show some nice oversteer. Exciting and enticing for all of us.

But, being devil's advocate, the slot-car/tail out poise doesn't look like the fastest line around the track to me. Could they have been in Drift mode? Or maybe in Track or Normal mode but heavier than necessary on the throttle? Or maybe others think the lines looked ok?

I have several track days, a couple performance driving days and a couple autox events under my belt, so I wouldn't consider myself a racing expert by any means but also not a total noob.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
The Lommel test track videos show some nice oversteer. Exciting and enticing for all of us.

But, being devil's advocate, the slot-car/tail out poise doesn't look like the fastest line around the track to me. Could they have been in Drift mode? Or maybe in Track or Normal mode but heavier than necessary on the throttle? Or maybe others think the lines looked ok?

I have several track days, a couple performance driving days and a couple autox events under my belt, so I wouldn't consider myself a racing expert by any means but also not a total noob.

Thoughts?
Same as you, I am by no means an expert racer, but this is how I understand it:

Sideways is NEVER the fastest way around a turn. You drift for three reasons.
1. It is a blind turn and you have no idea how tight it is. Come in hot and plan to kick the back end out so that you can scrub exactly as much speed as you need to.
2. Fun. Because drifting can be fun.
3. See 1, but unintentional. You did something stupid.

I would assume that videos of the RS drifting are either promo stuff to show off how fun the car is, someone getting used to a track or the car, or being a little too enthusiastic on the throttle.

Disclaimer: I have not seen the aforementioned videos. Link?

-edit-