Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I consider myself to be a pretty decent driver, but I have no problem in admitting I am a complete novice at drifting, only having done it accidentally and never looking like a pro (read: spinning out like a noob). I have never actually gone out and attempted to learn to drift, but its something I am really looking forward to trying out in the RS.

I am curious as to what better drivers, who have a grasp on what drifting takes, think of this system and drive mode. Obviously this question is a bit premature and will be held to speculation without any of us having actually been behind the wheel with it, but my mind is constantly running anyways, why not have the hamster wheel turning on something fun instead of something like "shorts or pants, its not too cold, but it could get colder when the sun goes down, cold, ice cream sounds good..."

So, will it be a button where someone who has never drifted before can press it and be sideways, or will it just enhance a skill set that needs to previously be in place?

·
Registered
2,441 Posts
I expect that if you find a level, clear area the drift mode should be very easy to use. It will take some cojones at first to get into a drift and hold it, because for most people it is a very foreign feeling, like OMG I'm going to lose control. Those of us that grew up driving on snow should have an easier transition. This car will make it easy and will not let you get overly sideways - it will start pulling back if you over-rotate. Should be a blast, if you can put aside the feeling that you are literally making money go up in smoke!

I plan to play with mine once the original tires are shot, just before I replace them.

Jim

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter #3