Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, my name's Nick I'm new here to the Focus RS forum, I will be purchasing one but like the thread says I'm having a hard time here in Florida finding someone who a)knows that they're talking about or B) seem sketchy about the process. Anyone on here close to southwest florida who has success preordering this car? Also I'm new to the whole "allocation" thing, so not really too sure how that works to be honest lol.

·
Registered
848 Posts
Allocation:
-Ford determines the number of cars they're going to build.
-They divide that number among sales regions.
-The Regional Mgr divides his allocations among the dealers in his region.
-The dealer places orders for the car in question until his allocation is exhausted.
-He can order additional cars beyond his allocation with no guarantees of delivery.
-Any allocations not ordered by the dealer can be redistributed to other dealer(s) within the region.
-If the dealer has still over ordered then ??? (I don't know, maybe another Ford employee has experienced this)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
okay so obviously you would want to order one at a dealership that still has allocations left, correct? My problem is, so far I've checked with the only 2 ford dealers close to me, one claims they don't know anything about the car yet and they're not taking orders yet, and the other doesn't have any allocations(seemed kind of confused when I asked about them) but said he can order the car for me. The salesman also told me that my deposit is nonrefundable, which I don't know if thats true or not.

·
Registered
2,441 Posts
Cast your net a lot wider - 2 dealers only and you have a good chance at nothing, try 40 dealers. including surrounding states. Many of us that were successful did this. Hold out for MSRP unless you get a good deal very close to home with someone you trust and low dealer markup.

Jim

·
Registered
84 Posts