Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did some googling, but I can’t seem to find out on my own.
With the right tune, can you run E30/E40 on the stock setup without adding the rails etc I was reading about for e85 I think?

what do you guys think of going this route, and what kind of increases could one expect?
any help appreciated

·
Premium Member
173 Posts
Correct, you can run E30 without rails and a tune set up for it. Usually you would have a pump gas tune (91 or 93) in slot 1 and an E30 tune in slot 2. With proper bolt-ons (mainly an aftermarket intercooler), you can expect a 20-30 whp gain.

·
Registered
403 Posts
As above. No need for aux fuel rail and injector. Fuelling wise you are at the limit with E40.
Get a tune and bolt ons and you'll love it.
I've been running E30 for over 12 months now. Stratified tuned my car. I'm making 268kw at the wheels compared to 250kw on 98Ron. Is to mix as well. The fuel economy isn't that much worse either.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Any negative long term effect (reliability)? and what is difference between 30 and 40?
aside from the ratio of mix...
More ethanol the more power?

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Any negative long term effect (reliability)? and what is difference between 30 and 40?
aside from the ratio of mix...
More ethanol the more power?
This seems to be a fairly common mod and there have been a lot of cars running E30 for a few years now without any issue. I myself have been running it for the last 2 yrs with no issue, but only on trackdays and in the summer.

The "30" and "40" stand for the percentage of ethanol in the fuel ie E85 = 85% ethanol, E30 = 30% ethanol, etc. Typically, standard 91 or 93 octane fuel is around E10. Ethanol has the effect of increasing the octane rating of your fuel, so running an E30 mix of E85 and 91 bumps it up to around 94-95.