Ford Focus RS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I am new to this page so go easy on me. I recently went thre my oem pads and rotors after a year a half daily driving and 6 track days at thunderhill. I have already upgraded to motul 660 and stainless steel brake lines. My problem is my automotive mechanical skills are not the best. I looking for a good combo that might last as long but my friend who is a hpde instructor wants me to be some more aggressive. This is my only car so I daily it about 9 miles a day with 4-5 track days a year. And help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
230 Posts
There is only so much you can do as far as improving braking without breaking the bank.

There is a bunch of aftermarket rotors but since they are drop-in replacement there is not much they can add in terms of performance, and there is nothing wrong with the OE rotors.

Most aftermarket pads are just mild road pads, and there are not many racing pads that fits the OE brakes, which are road brakes.

The Ferodo DS2500 pads are one of them and are step up from the OE pads, still completely streetable. I’ve them on my car with the OE rotors and I’ve nothing to complain about. Once bedded-in ther offer a decent improvement over the OE pads, I’ve no scientific measurement but I’d guesstimates 20% more friction or so, you can feel it.

If you want substantially more braking you need thicker rotors at the front first and foremost, and then you can use some more agressive race compounds but thicker rotors also requires wider calipers, and possibly other rims so it’s a big and costly project.

Also keep in mind you are first and foremost limited by tire grip. Unless you use proper track tires, big brakes might not provide as much benefits as they appear on paper if all you get is easy lock-up, plus temperature issue like less or no cold bite which make them less streetable.