Ford Focus RS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've got a set of 9" wheels I'm planning on running in autox and I'm looking at tires for it - right now I'm debating on whether I should run a 265/35 on that or not

my question is if that is too wide for a 9" wheel or not? from what I've found online it looks like they consider a 265 as the maximum width you can run, so I'm not sure if I'm sacrificing performance by running that wide? My brain tells me that a wider contact patch is better, but I don't know if there are any unforeseen variables I don't know about...I'm still relatively new to trying different kinds of tires, so I wanted to pose the question here and see if the consensus is to go 265 or if I should just stick with a 255?

planning on running Bridgestone RE-71Rs

·
Registered
2017 SG RS1
1,582 Posts
So I've got a set of 9" wheels I'm planning on running in autox and I'm looking at tires for it - right now I'm debating on whether I should run a 265/35 on that or not

my question is if that is too wide for a 9" wheel or not? from what I've found online it looks like they consider a 265 as the maximum width you can run, so I'm not sure if I'm sacrificing performance by running that wide? My brain tells me that a wider contact patch is better, but I don't know if there are any unforeseen variables I don't know about...I'm still relatively new to trying different kinds of tires, so I wanted to pose the question here and see if the consensus is to go 265 or if I should just stick with a 255?

planning on running Bridgestone RE-71Rs