Ford Focus RS Forum banner

Hit and Run.. Think a first timer can take on the fix?

4K views 20 replies 14 participants last post by  cornerexit 
#1 ·
Found my car victim of a hit and run this morning, no note ><

After spending a few minutes using a microfiber and some quick detailer I had in my trunk I was able to clear it of most the rubber. It has some pretty good staining and a lot of small scratches in the upper area, and the one area where the tire chewed through the paint, but all in all it doesn't look THAT bad.

I'm tempted to collect a repair check and put it towards something fun like exhaust or suspension bits and try to fix it myself.. but I have no experience working with paint to such a degree. I'm fine taking my time and doing research on the methods, just wondering if those with a bit of experience think someone who has never tackled a project like this could handle it and have it looking good as new. Or should I just bite the bullet and get it repaired at a shop.

Here are two pictures, one upon discovery, and one after spending 5 or so minutes on it. The second picture in all honesty makes it look better than it does in real life, or maybe thats just because I'm the owner and hyper aware..

Automotive exterior Bumper Hood Vehicle door Auto part

Automotive exterior White Bumper Vehicle Car

See less See more
#2 ·
That sucks. You really can't park your car in the street anymore. Too many idiots just bump into your bumper. I had to order another front license plate bracket cause someone bent mine all up.